Clinton Awards/ Saturday Evening Banquet

Undergraduate students with a passion to end hunger are invited to apply for the Clinton Hunger Leadership Award. Named in honor of President Bill Clinton for his commitment to humanitarian causes including the eradication of hunger, the award recognizes outstanding leadership in the movement to end hunger. The winner will receive a cash award to use towards an educational experience that will advance their knowledge and understanding of hunger and related issues.

The award is co-sponsored by Stop Hunger Now and NC State University’s Center for Student Leadership, Ethics & Public Service. The award will be presented to the winner at the 2016 Universities Fighting World Hunger Summit, February 25-26th, 2016, at the University of Missouri in Columbia, Missouri.

Award Criteria:

  • Must be an enrolled student at an accredited post-secondary institution
  • Demonstrated leadership in the fight against hunger
  • Commitment to a life of service in the area of hunger, poverty reduction, or related discipline

How to Apply:

  • Submit a 3-5 minute video detailing your vision for a world without hunger as well as your efforts to provide leadership in this area
  • The video application period runs from September 4th to December 4th, 2015
  • Video should be creative and engaging (i.e. not a live video resume)
  • Include your email address at the end of your video as the finalists will be contacted via email
  • Upload video to President William Jefferson Clinton Hunger Leadership Award Vimeo group

The top 5 video finalists will then be asked to submit the following for Round 2:

  • Applicant information form
  • Essays indicating an understanding of the cause of hunger and related issues
  • Letter of recommendation

Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2015 – Maria Rose Belding, American University
  • 2014 – Azeem Ahmed, Auburn University
  • 2014 – Honorable Mention: Patricia Paskov, University of Wisconsin
  • 2013 – Brendan Rice, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • 2013 – Honorable Mention: Devin Yeomans, Auburn University
  • 2012 – Ryan O’Donnell, North Carolina State University
  • 2011 – Gavin R. Armstrong, University of Guelph,
  • 2011 – Honorable Mention: Ellen Luby Orabone, American University
  • 2010 – Sarah Nam, Harvard University
  • 2009 – John Coggin, North Carolina State University

Location: Hampton Inn and Suites Date: February 27, 2016 Time: 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm Nick Droege